It is currently Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:07 am

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
 Tokyo Gaming / Gamestores? 

Post Tokyo Gaming / Gamestores?
Hello, I'm currently a student at Temple University Japan (in Tamachi) and I'm staying at dorms near Ontakesan. I was wondering what groups meet near these locations and what games do you play?

I tried finding a group on BoardGameGeek, but it seems like there is only one Tokyo group listed and it seems pretty much dead. After contacting one of the former leaders of the board / card game group at TUJ he directed me towards this site.

Also, I'm curious about where is a good place to buy board games here?

Any other general info for someone who is staying in Japan for a month or two would be appreciated.

- Stefan Sain Lopuszanski /

Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:14 pm
Profile E-mail

Post Re: Tokyo Gaming / Gamestores?
Hi there, we have a group of 7 people playing games once or twice a week in Tokyo. Lately usually play DnD 4ED on Thursdays at Nakano station (1 stop away from Shinjuku) and board games / miniature games weekends at Ayase (3 stops away from Nisinipori) and sometimes Nakano.
I just got my Collectors edition of the war of the ring last week, so we will probably play that for 1-2 weekends, since everyone is really stoked about it. :)
viewtopic.php?f=&t=385&p=2687#p2687

Other games we play lately are:
Doom
Arkahm Horror
Heroclix
Axis and Allies War At Sea
Axis and Allies 50th aniv
Settlers of Catan
Talisman
Space Hulk

I have an account at BBG but not really active there.

From game stores you might want to take a look at Yellow Submarine (chain of stores) and Shosen books in Jinbocho.
Frankly speaking they ask an arm and a leg for board games here, so unless its a Japanese game that you cant find abroad, you are better off buying from the internet.
Its always cheaper to buy online from USA including shipping than buying in Japan.

Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:30 am