It is currently Sun Jul 23, 2017 5:44 pm

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
 Hello from Brazil 

Post Hello from Brazil
Hello,

My name is Wagner Luiz Schmit, 27 years, Psychologist and master degree in education, i've been playing tabletop RPG since 1994 and larps since 1996. My dissertation for the master degree was about the use of RPG in education in Brazil.

I joined this forum for some reasons:

I just come back from a RPG (more larp than tabletop) conference in Norway () and there i met a lot of interesting people, learned news ways of playing and made contact of lots of RPG academic researchers. After that i came with the idea of searching for RPG communities in other countries and, hopefully, make friends and make contact with other researchers.

I love japanese culture, my city have a lot of japanese people and i plan to travel to japan someday (to study or just for fun, don't know yet what).

So i want to know if you have any kind of convetion there in english and how much it would cost for me to attend it.

I want to know if you know people that have done or are doing academic research about RPG.

What kinds of games do you play?

If you want to know about this Nordic conference i sugest those links:

Knutepunkt and Nordic Live Role-playing: a crash cource:

If you want to know more about what i'm doing here is a start:

Feel free to ask questions and i hope this is the start of interesting exchanges =)

All the best

Wagner

PS: I joined the yahoogroups mailing list, but any of the messages that i've sent arrived to the group =/

Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:36 pm
Profile E-mail

Post Re: Hello from Brazil
Interesting stuff, Wagner! Most people don't know that there's actually a lot of academic research on role playing games of all types, though I think we're familiar with the mathematical side of board and card games.